Possession of Marijuana

Laws pertaining to the possession and use of marijuana have been a point of contention for decades. However, as laws evolve across the country, Texas retains some of the most severe penalties for marijuana possession and distribution. At Hoelscher Gebbia Cepeda, PLLC, we protect the rights of those charged with drug crimes, including marijuana possession and possession of marijuana concentrates, with intelligent defense strategies that look to minimize the severity of the charges or have them completely dismissed.

Understanding Texas' Penalties For Marijuana Possession

Possessing any usable amount of marijuana is a crime in Texas. The maximum penalties for possession vary according to the amount of marijuana the authorities find. If you were arrested with two or fewer ounces of marijuana in your possession, you could face 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. As the amount or marijuana increases, so too does the maximum penalty — as much as five to 99 years in prison and a $10,000 fine for first-degree felony possession. In addition to jail time and fines, any misdemeanor marijuana conviction will result in the suspension of your driver's license.

With so much at stake, it's important to contact an attorney right away after any drug possession arrest.

Hire An Experienced Marijuana Possession Attorney

Like many other types of criminal cases, building a strong defense begins with gathering the facts and understanding all the details. At Hoelscher Gebbia Cepeda, PLLC, we know how to look for procedural errors on the part of the authorities and the best methods for seeing that your charges are reduced or dismissed.

As experienced trial lawyers, we never back down from a case and will fight on your behalf until your matter is resolved. Contact us by calling 210-570-9902 or complete our online contact form for a prompt response from the staff at our San Antonio law office.